Week #84 of Reading Like A Maniac

Hi, y’all!

Now I do have an excuse for using that southern expression cuz I’ve been reading the Sookie Stackhouse series by the badass Charlaine Harris and I feel connected to that accent now so much that I’ve been watching pieces of True Blood where the book characters appear in YouTube, until now it has been a fun ride filled with one a regret and many little adoration hearts cuz these plots are intriguing and passionate. Anyways, this week has been good in comparison to the previous but I still wish I could go back to university to see old friends and start stressing myself out like a regular young woman in her early 20’s. But I guess books are also a way to be stressed and nervous so this is fine, right?.

The first book I read was Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris (BTW, those titles are sickening!).

Charlaine-Harris-Living-Dead-In-Dallas

After a crazy supernatural old lady with a wild pig attacks Sookie in the woods, she’s healedtumblr_inline_miluavpuCz1qz4rgp by the vampires so now she ows them a favor. Eric gives her away to a pack of other blood suckers so they can find a missing vamp that somehow has to deal with a group of aggressive fanatics, charming shapeshifters and a suicidal walking dead. Sookie should have taught it twice before getting involved with the southern vampires.

STILL ENTERTAINING, ENCHANTING AND ALLURING.

The adventures of Sookie Stackhouse keep making me wonder if there might be creatures up in the south of the US. It is so realistic in the way the story is told that it leads me to believe this is how the world works now with vamps and hidden shape shifters and that crazy maneade wicked woman going round the Louisiana forests and boning doggie Sam. BTW, I hope we see more interactions between Bill and the always annoying Bellefleur family.

ONusJ

The second book I read was Club Dead by the same author.

6187Nt0liML

According to Eric, Bill Compton left Sookie for good with no explanation needed following an old flame. But his infidelity is not the only thing that’stumblr_inline_o7p7feYlRU1rifr4k_500 worrying this sweet woman but he has also been kidnapped by the ancient King of Mississippi looking for a secret work he had done for the Queen of Louisiana. Now Eric sends Sookie to look for him in the minds of a bunch of supernsturals in a dangerous club where shapeshifters, werewolves, vampires and other scary things venture, she must do it before it’s too late.

SOOKIE NEEDS TO MAN UP A LITTLE.

Again, another book that catches my attention by the synopsis. This made me love and have a bit of remorse towards my dear Sookie cuz despite all the shit Bill did by abandoning her for (dead bitch) Lorena she still was going to rescue him and I was ready to just let her do it when all of a sudden he rapes her (He fucking did it, you can’t tell me that was sexy consensual cuz it wasn’t) and she still wants his body after she wakes up. That was the thing I disliked about the book, how easily Sookie can become the typical vampire romance novel characteristic female lead, full of abuse and low self-esteem. Anyways, going to other stages I fell for sweet green eyed Alcide though I want to vomit every time he salivates for his shape shifting ex; also Eric is slowly wining over my heart because he’s so light and funny and hot and just such a good listener for a thousands year old Viking.

eff2cb0d33c84602f6e52810a26bde95

The third book was Dead to the World by the same author.

Charlaine-Harris-Dead-To-The-World

Sookie almost runs over an amnesiac man on her way home from work, but that’stumblr_inline_mmmiu5CXgb1rompwx not an ordinary man: It is in fact Eric Northman who after being attacked by a powerful witch is left withno memories and only Sookie to take care of him. The sexual tension gathers as the witch gets closer with a desire to be the owner of Bon Temps for good. It will be up to Sookie to figure out the best thing to do to help Eric, her wiccan coworkers and some angry werewolves.

ERIC NORTHMAN IS PERFECT.

OK, he’s not entirely perfect but his amnesiac side was pretty promising and so so so so hot. I hadn’t been so interested in a guy in a physical way in years, but his scene in the shower with Sookie was out of this world. Anyways, going back to the story itself the whole Jason thing had me wondering if it had been Debbie or perhaps that Crystal chick because from the moment Sookie saw what the first turn in and the second’s paw I knew it had to be one of them but it was Crystal’s friend who did it in the end and now Jason might become a were-panther and I’m beyond ecstatic. In other news, Eric lost his memory and regained it again after beating a werewolf vampire’s blood sucking witch down in battle, Pam proved she was boss, Bubba made a small yet sweet appearance, Bill travelled to Peru, Alcide was not so perfect cuz he was again dating bitch Debbie, oh and Sookie killed the bitch to protect Eric. And I need to know more about that fairy woman.

1bbfWs1

The fourth book was the first volume in a new duology which will be part of the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. I’m talking about the graphic novel named Wires and Nerve.

9781250078261_FC

Iko feels useless with Cinder up in Luna fixing her dresses and helping hertumblr_inline_mu8120PNIM1qf0ipo with etiquette so she ventures in a plan to get rid of the wold creatures Levana left on Earth when she tried to destroy all humanity. Cinder needs more earthen popularity so she accepts sending her beloved android to collaborate to her cause but when things start to get cozy she’ll have to send an unforgiving and a little judgmental soldier to help her out.

I WANT TO READ MORE GRAPHIC NOVELS AFTER THIS.

I was always afraid I might not like this art work after reading an original series cuz perhaps the characters weren’t going to look the way I pictured them in my mind. I was right to be afraid cuz they we’re mostly nothing like I thought but somehow that didn’t scare me off from keep on reading, the lovely drawings were a nice companion for this story and I felt I was able to see my favorite sets and personalities come to life, besides I’m already shipping Iko and Kinney, and I want to know what happen to Iko’s programming: why does she have feelings now? or why she suddenly blushes like a human being?; there’s also the message that Cinder’s adoptive father left for her about her own self. There are so many questions and the next volume comes out next year, I’m not sure I’ll be strong enough to wait.

tumblr_inline_mz3l8vuC7B1rt6qr4

The final book I read was Dead as a Doornail by Charlaine Harris.

05 - Mas Muerto Que Nunca

Sookie is starting to feel guilty and a bit nervous that someone might findtumblr_inline_mirlxrBtVP1qz4rgp out about the fact she killed Debbie and when two investigators start making questions she wonders if people can see through her as well as she reads thoughts. But all of that is shadowed when a mysterious hunter begins to shoot people of two natures like Sam and Calvin, Sookie is more afraid than anyone cuz now her brother is one as well. But everyone likes to point out that Jason couldn’t be a future victim but the actual killer.

NOW ALCIDE IS OUT OF THE EQUATION.

I never even went that far to consider he would be my first suitor in Sookie’s love life to be cut so dramatically but yeah, after that whole using her without letting her know in the funeral and then all the fucked up shut he exposed her to when he invited her as a friend of the pack to the alpha’s election creepy ceremony. I’m still a bit traumatized by how screwd up are the werewolves and their traditions, and I thought the were-panthers were weird! So now the choice (at least for me) has been reduced to two options, either hot oblivious Eric or safe mysterious Sam because Bill is dead for me since he raped Sookie (besides he fucked Lorena).

tumblr_nxcvcdDTV51unwvfpo1_500


So this is it guys, did you watch Riverdale last night? Who would have thought Hal Cooper was such an immature dick? And what about the promo for next episode? Let’s just pray that Archie didn’t get any STDs from Miss Grundy so he won’t give it to Cheryl as well. 

BTW, I can’t wait to watch Starz new show The White Princess based on Phillipa Gregory’s historical fiction novel of the same name; it seems so visually appealing. 

Coffee and books, 

Alex. 

Leave a Reply

